Talks in 2007 (Jointly organized with KIAA)

(Rm2907, Department of Astronomy, No. 2 Science Building, PKU)

¡¡

Dec. 13  (Thu. 3:30pm)
Speaker: Dr. Kevin Briggs£¨Institute of Astronomy£¬ETH Zurich£¬Switzerland£©
Topic:   A Million-Degree Plasma Pervading the Extended Orion Nebula

Nov. 12  (Mon. 10:00am)
Speaker: Prof. Marek Abrawowicz (Goteborg University, Sweden)
Topic:   Black Hole Music

Nov. 1  (Thu. 7:00pm; Room 102, No. 2 Teaching Building)
Speaker: Prof. Michel Mayor (Geneva University, Swiss)
Topic:   Searching for other worlds: the Discovery of Exoplanets

Nov. 1  (Thu. 3:30pm)
Speaker: Dr. Mark J. Reid (Harvard-Smithsonian CfA, USA)
Topic:   Microarcsecond Astrometry with the VLBA

Oct. 29 (Mon. 11:00am)
Speaker: Dr. Ian Dobbs-Dixon (UC Santa Cruz, USA)
Topic:   Atmospheres of Short Period Planets

Oct. 29 (Mon. 10:00am)
Speaker: Dr. Shigeru Ida (Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan)
Topic:  Migration and the mass: semimajor axis distribution of extra-solar planets

Oct. 16 (Tue. 12:00, lunch talk)
Speaker: Prof. Qiuhe Peng (Nanjing U.)
Topic:  Physics of strong magnetic field and activity of magnetars

Oct. 11 (Thu. 3:45pm)
Speaker: Prof. Friedrich H. Busse (U. Bayreuth, Germany)
Topic:  Dynamo Theory of Planetary Magnetism

Oct. 11 (Thu. 3:00pm)
Speaker: Dr. Martin Miller (U. Cologne, Germany)
Topic:  [CI] and CO(4-3) Observations in the Galaxies NGC4945 and Circinus

Sept. 27 (Thu. 12:00, lunch talk)
Speaker: Dr. HongGuang Wang (CfA, Guangzhou U.)
Topic:  A numerical platform to constrain emission regions and test emission models of pulsars

Aug. 29 (Wed. 3:30pm)
Speaker: Dr. Qizhou Zhang (CfA, USA)
Topic:  Infrared Dark Clouds: Clues to Massive Star Formation

Aug. 28 (Tue. 3:30pm)
Speaker: Dr. Carsten Kramer (U. Cologne, Germany)
Topic:  Warm Gas and Dust in Clumpy Molecular Clouds: RCW106 and Carina

Aug 27 (Mon. 3:30pm)
Speaker: Prof  Howard Yee (U. Toronto, Canada)
Topic:  The Red-Sequence Cluster Survey

August 24 (Fri. 3:30pm)
Speaker: Dr. Jeremy Lim (ASIAA, Taipei)
Topic: Observational Tests of Multiple Protostellar System Formation

June 13 (Wed. 10:10-11:40am)
Speaker: Prof  Xiao-Wei Liu (PKU)
Topic: WSO/UV Overview

June 6 (Wed. 10:10-11:40am)
Speaker: Prof  Jing-Xiu Wang (NAOC)
Topic: Solar Coronal Mass Ejections

May 30 (Wed. 10:10-11:40am)
Speaker: Prof  Renxin Xu (PKU)
Topic:  Pulsars and Strange Stars

May 28 (Mon. 10:00-11:20am)
Speaker: Prof. Jeremiah P. Ostriker (Princeton U., USA)
Topic:  Black Hole Accretion and Radiative Feedback from Quasars

May 23 (Wed. 10:10-11:40am)
Speaker: Prof. Zuhui Fan (PKU)
Topic:  Gravitational lensing

May 18 (Fri. 10:30-11:40am)
Speaker: Prof. Jorge E. Horvath (Sao Paulo, Brazil)
Topic:  Neutron Star with Exotic Equation of State

May 16 (Wed. 10:10-11:40am)
Speaker: Prof. Xiaohui Fan (Univ. of Arizona, USA)
Topic:  The Future of Large Ground-based Telescopes: LBT and GMT

May 11 (Fri. 10:30-11:50am)
Speaker: Prof. A. Celotti (SISSA, Italy)
Topic:  Relativistic Jets in AGNs: New Clues?

May 9 (Wed. 10:10-11:30am)
Speaker: Prof. Shuangnan Zhang (Tsinghua Univ.)
Topic:  HXMT and X-ray Astronomy

Apr. 25 (Wed. 10:10-12:00am)
Speaker: Prof. Wei Cui (Purdue Univ., USA)
Topic:  TeV Astrophysics

Apr. 20 (Fri. 10:30-11:40am)
Speaker: Prof. Zongwei Li (Beijing Normal Univ.)
Topic:  SN1987A: Twenty years later

Apr. 18 (Wed. 10:10-12:00am)
Speaker: Prof. Rendong Nan (NAOC)
Topic:  FAST: Its technology and science

Apr. 13 (Fri. 10:30-11:40am)
Speaker: Prof.  Francesca Matteucci (Universita di Trieste, Italy)
Topic:  Chemical Evolution of the Milky Way

Apr. 11 (Wed. 10:10-12:00am)
Speaker: Prof. Xuelei Chen (NAOC)
Topic:  Cosmic Microwave Background

Apr. 4 (Wed. 9:00-10:10am)
Speaker: Prof. Donald G. YORK (U. Chicago, USA)
Topic:  SDSS Survey

Apr. 4 (Wed. 10:15-12:00am)
Speaker: Prof. Gang ZHAO (NAOC)
Topic:  High Resolution Stellar Spectroscopy

Mar. 30 (Fri 10:30-11:40am)
Speaker: Prof. Zhen ZHAO (Beijing Normal Univ.)
Topic:  Measurement of Time

Mar. 29 (Fri 10:30-11:40am)
Speaker: Prof.  Fred K. Y. LO  (NRAO, USA)
Topic:  Mega-masers, Dark Energy and the Hubble Constant

Mar. 28 (Wed. 10:10-12:00am)
Speaker: Prof. Jinlin HAN  (NAOC)
Topic: Cosmic Magnetic Fields

Mar. 23 (Fri. 10:30-12:00am)
Speaker: Prof. Wei  CUI  (Purdue U., USA)
Topic: Towards understanding the SED of Microquasars

Mar. 21 (Wed. 10:00-12:00am)
Speaker: Prof. Yongheng ZHAO (NAOC)
Topic: LAMOST and large optical sky surveys

Mar. 14 (Wed. 10:00-12:00am)
Speaker: Prof. Meg Urry (Yale U., USA)
Topic: Accelerating Universe

Mar. 9 (Fri. 10:00-12:00am)
Speaker: Prof. Doug N. C. Lin (UCSC, USA/KIAA-PKU)
Topic: Exoplanets (Part II)

Mar. 7 (Wed. 10:00-12:00am)
Speaker: Prof. Doug N. C. Lin (UCSC, USA/KIAA-PKU)
Topic: Exoplanets (Part I)

Feb. 28 (Wed. 10:00-12:00am)
Speaker: Prof. Xue-Bing Wu (PKU)
Topic: Weighing Black Holes in the Universe